Frequently Asked Questions


Curfew for certain minors -

It shall be unlawful for any child under the age of 18 years to be or remain in or upon any of the public streets, highways, alleys, parks or other public places of the Borough of Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. unless such child shall be accompanied by a parent, guardian or other person having the legal care or custody of such child or unless such child's employment makes it necessary for such child to be in or upon said public streets, highways, alleys, parks or other public places between such hours.

Responsibility of parent or guardian -

No parent, guardian or other person having the legal care or custody of a child under the age of 18 years shall allow or permit such child to be in or upon any of the public streets, high ways, alleys, parks or other public places of the Borough of Shippensburg between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. 

Violations and penalties -

A.    Any child under the age of 18 years shall not be in or upon the public streets, highways, alleys, parks or other public places of the Borough of Shippensburg, Cumberland and Franklin Counties, Pennsylvania, between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m., prevailing time.

B.    If said child under the age of 18 years shall be in or upon the public streets, highways, alleys, parks or other public places of the Borough of Shippensburg, Cumberland and Franklin Counties, Pennsylvania, in violation of curfew ordinance or Subsection A hereof, said child so offending shall, upon conviction thereof, be punishable by a fine of not more than $300 and costs of prosecution.


No person shall stand on a roadway for the purpose of soliciting contributions from the occupant of any vehicle.

Title 75 Section 3545. Pedestrians soliciting rides or business.

No person shall:

(1) Stand on a roadway for the purpose of soliciting a ride.

(2) Stand on a roadway for the purpose of soliciting employment, business or contributions from the occupant of any vehicle.

(3) Stand on or in proximity to a highway for the purpose of soliciting the watching or guarding of any vehicle while parked or about to be parked on a street or highway.

Check with your local, county or state government for permission.

No, It may not be so obstructed by a screen, bar, auxiliary equipment or device of any kind as to obscure, change color of or obstruct the beam.

Title 67 Chapter 175 Vehicle Equipment and Inspection Section 175.125. Lighting and electrical systems.

(e) Condition and position of lamps. Lamps shall be properly fastened; direct light properly; be of a color not contrary to regulations relating to required motor vehicle lighting equipment; location of required equipment; and required motor vehicle lighting equipment); and may not be so obstructed by a screen, bar, auxiliary equipment or device of any kind as to obscure, change color of or obstruct the beam. 

State law requires any slow moving vehicle to pull off the road at the first and safest opportunity to let the faster traffic pass. The slow moving vehicle may slow moving vehicles may then return to the roadway when the faster traffic has passed.

Title 75III. Operation of Vehicles; Chapter 33 Rules of the Road in General; Subchapter F Speed Restrictions Sub Section 3364 - Minimum speed regulation:

(a) Impeding movement of traffic prohibited.--Except when reduced speed is necessary for safe operation or in compliance with law, no person shall drive a motor vehicle at such a slow
speed as to impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.

(b) Slow moving vehicle to drive off roadway.- Except when reduced speed is necessary for safe operation or in compliance with law, whenever any person drives a vehicle upon a roadway having width for not more than one lane of traffic in each direction at less than the maximum posted speed and at such a slow speed as to impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic, the driver shall, at the first opportunity when and where it is reasonable and safe to do so and after giving appropriate signal, drive completely off the roadway and onto the berm or shoulder of the highway. The driver may return to the roadway after giving appropriate signal only when the movement can be made in safety and so as not to impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic.

The Shippensburg Borough codes are online here.

You can call or stop into the Court for help with any procedural or factual questions regarding your case. If you want legal advice, please contact a lawyer. Note: Court employees may not provide legal advice. For legal advice, please contact a lawyer. 

If you do not respond voluntarily, you can be arrested at any time – on a vehicle stop by a Police officer, or while at work, school or home by a Constable. You may then be handcuffed and transported to District Court to appear before a District Judge to answer to the charges in the warrant. In addition to other Warrant costs, there will be service, transport, and hearing fees for two Constables, plus any mileage costs incurred. This is potentially your most disruptive and expensive option.

Warrants assigned to Police Department and Constables do not "go away." They remain on the Police Warrant System until satisfied. Note: There is a Statute of Limitations of 3-years from the last activity on Traffic violations only.      

If you advise the Court that you are unable to make a payment due to the Court, whether full fines and costs or a partial payment on a time-payment plan, you can request a hearing before the District Judge to determine your ability to pay at that time, a payment plan can be ordered or adjusted, community service can be ordered, or the defendant can be imprisoned for nonpayment ($40 per day.) Note: The outcome of the hearing can be appealed within 30 days to the Court of Common Pleas for a new hearing (hearing de novo.)

Constables are not permitted to accept partial payment of outstanding fines and costs, or to make payment arrangements. If in custody of the Police or Constable, prior to transporting to District Court, defendant may be permitted to make phone calls in an attempt to obtain funds needed to satisfy the Warrant(s). Phone calls can also be made at the District Court following a hearing with the District Judge.      

Anyone charged with an offense is entitled to plead Not Guilty. In a Summary matter, a trial will then be scheduled at the Court where the Citation is filed. At the Summary Trial, the Magisterial District Judge hears testimony presented by both sides (prosecution and defense), and renders a verdict. The prosecution must prove its case beyond a reasonable doubt and the defense may present testimony, but is not required to. You can choose to be represented by an attorney, but it is not required. If you do not appear for your trial, you may be found Guilty in your absence. Note: A Guilty verdict in all Summary matters can be appealed within 30 days to the Court of Common Pleas for a new trial (trial de novo.)

You may be required to post collateral before the trial will be scheduled. Your Not Guilty plea plus collateral for the trial can be collected by the Constable, or delivered in person or by mail to the District Court which issued the Warrant. If you have special financial considerations, you must contact the Court in person to make arrangements. Note: Collateral is not an extra charge. If you are found Not Guilty, it will be refunded to you. If you are found Guilty, it will be applied towards your fines and costs. Your fines and costs will include Warrant and Constable Costs incurred.      

Additional Court costs are incurred when a Warrant is issued, and an additional Constable fee is added when the Warrant is satisfied and recalled.    

You can contact the Court in person or by mail, and take care of the outstanding matter by entering your plea and making the outstanding payment (including Warrant and Constable costs) or requesting a hearing and posting collateral. The warrant will be recalled after the plea and payment are received.

You can contact the Constable holding your Warrant. If you received notification of the Warrant from a Constable — whether by mail, phone, or by posting your door — and the issue is money due to the court, you can mail the outstanding balance to the Court or to the Constable. If the issue is a missing response to a Citation, you can mail to the court your plea of Guilty along with full fines and costs, or your plea of Not Guilty along with collateral required to schedule a hearing.

For more information in your case, you can call the Court or the Constable holding the warrant for your arrest. Constables are generally available during evening and weekend hours when the court is closed.

Summary Warrants are issued to certified Pennsylvania State Constables for service. Constables can execute Warrants issued on Citations for Traffic (including Parking) violations, Non-Traffic (Summary State Code and local Ordinance) violations, as well as Court subpoenas and Civil processes. Constables may execute Warrants in any part of Pennsylvania, and they have arrest powers on their Warrants and on other crimes committed in their view.      

An Arrest Warrant is issued in a Summary case when a defendant fails to comply in a timely fashion to an order of the Court. For example, the failure may be lack of response to a Citation or Summons, a fine not paid by the required date, or a missed payment on a time payment order.

An Arrest Warrant is an enforceable order to respond to the Court. Active Warrants are recorded with the Police Department and information regarding these Warrants can be accessed by Law Enforcement Officers. Various responses are appropriate in order to satisfy the Warrant and have it recalled by the Court.

Sorry... No, Incident reports are only released from the office through a court subpoena.

An incident report can be filled out by calling the front desk at 717-532-7361, assuming the incident occurred in the borough limits of Shippensburg. A police officer will answer the phone and complete the report for you. You may also file an incident report by personally coming to the police department at 60 West Burd Street, Shippensburg, Pa. 17257. 

A copy of an accident report can be obtained by coming to the police department M-F, 8-4, and going to the Front Desk. Fee for the Report is $15.00. 

You can be fingerprinted by coming to the Shippensburg Police Department Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00 A.M. and 4:00 P.M. However, there is a chance that no one will be available at the time you stop by, or you may have a lengthy wait. It is best to call ahead of time for an appointment. Call 717-532-7361.